Senior LPGA Championship Heads To French Lick, Indiana

With the Senior LPGA Championship just around the corner the field of player's is starting to grow, and will include five World Golf Hall of Fame members - Laura Davies, Patty Sheehan, Hollis Stacy, Betsy King and Pat Bradley. The first major for former LPGA stars will take place on one of Indiana's popular golf courses; the Pete Dye Course at the French Lick Resort in French Lick, Indiana from Monday, July 10 through Wednesday, July 12. The total purse is $600,000 and all three rounds will be televised on Golf Channel.

“The names already committed are an impressive collection of talent that will no doubt create thrilling golf for fans in French Lick and the surrounding area along with the Golf Channel audience,” said Tournament Director Mike Nichols. “Laura Davies - who is undoubtedly one of the most accomplished golfers worldwide - brings a great deal of recognition to the event and to have 17 LPGA major champs already committed is amazing.”

Davies has won 84 tournaments around the world including 20 during her time on the LPGA Tour and was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2015. Sheehan, who won 35 times on the LPGA including six majors, was inducted into the LPGA and World Golf Halls of Fame in 1993. Hollis Stacy won 18 times on the LPGA including three U.S. Women’s Open’s and was elected to the WGHOF in 2011. King tallied 34 career wins including six majors and became an LPGA and World Golf Halls of Fame member in 1995. King has devoted the last decade of her life to her Golf Fore Africa charity and vows to raise $10 million over the next five years to bring clean water to people in Zambia. Pat Bradley won 31 times and led the LPGA in wins in 1983 (4) and 1985 (5).

Did You Know? Legends champions Trisha Johnson, Laurie Rinker and Lorie Kane have all won on the Pete Dye Course at French Lick Resort.

The history of women’s golf at French Lick dates back to 1957 where Louise Suggs captured the French Lick Women’s Open on the historic Donald Ross course. A few years later the LPGA Championship was also brought to the historic site. In 1959 Betsy Rawls won the LPGA major followed by the legendary Mickey Wright winning the title in 1960 also held on the Ross course. In 2013 the resort hosted The Legends Championship on the Pete Dye course and opened up the LPGA Legends Hall of Fame. In 2017 the resort will add a new chapter with these elite and historic players.

Proceeds from the Senior LPGA Championship will directly benefit the kids at Riley Hospital for Children through the Riley Children’s Foundation.

The weeklong celebration of women’s golf will begin the weekend prior with a new Symetra Tour event on The Donald Ross Course at French Lick Resort from Friday-Sunday, July 7-9. The Symetra Tour’s 54-hole tournament will have a purse of $200,000 and a winner’s payout of $30,000.

The Senior LPGA Championship will host a pro-am on Saturday, July 8 on the Pete Dye Course.

Join The Senior LPGA Championship

For news on playing in the pro-am with an LPGA legend, sponsorship opportunities, or becoming a volunteer contact or visit this link to learn more about the Senior LPGA Championship.

Plan Your Getaway At The French Lick Springs Hotel or West Baden Springs Hotel

To book your getaway at the French Lick Springs Hotel or West Baden Springs Hotel, which includes two spas with a 36 treatment rooms, over 51,000 square feet of gaming space, 165,000 square feet of meeting space and a variety of dining and entertainment options. Plus, free shuttle buses serve golfers and visitors from around the world visit

Popular Posts